on ruined reputaions and such

Today, for the first time ever, I went to the market late.  As in, I got there after 8 am.  *sigh*  More like 10:55 am, actually.  LB went to the market before me.  WTF?  That’s what I say.  Pigs are flying somewhere.

See, I meant to go at my usual 7:15 time, with good old JG, but it was raining.  For real raining, on account of the edge of the hurricane that’s moving up the east coast.  And sometimes it’s hard to get out of bed, what with The New Girl and all.  (Yes, nosey, it’s like *that*.)  So I neglected to call JG and stayed in bed.  The New Girl had plans to meet her neighbor at the market at 10-ish and so I went with them, convinced that everyone would notice my late arrival and my market reputation would be lost.  Lost.

Back in the day, you know, the market was small and less crowded and if you got there before 9, you were good – a good selection of everything, good sightings of people to mirate or snark on, etc.  But now?  Ha.  Get there after 7:30 at your peril.  The rows are so crowded with the New Privileged Elite of Virginia that you can barely walk.

Anyway, we got there  just before 11 today, in the rain no less.  There were few vendors and even fewer people – just like the good old days!  Michael, from Planet Earth Diversified, was busy talking to some customer about arugula (they use greenhouses, yo – so there’s greens year round – baby ones no less), but he whipped his head around when I came up to get my coffee and said, “what are *you* doing here so late?”  There goes my reputation, y’all.  Lost, I tell you.


10 Comments on “on ruined reputaions and such”

  1. LB says:

    That ain’t how you lost your rep, baby.
    xo,
    S.

  2. yup, another sara says:

    I think we all need to hear more about this new girl!

  3. gypsygrrl says:

    yep. more about the new girl, please. you know, the one who is monopolizing all your time (yay for new girls who do that!!!) and ruining your rep 😉 (what a way to go, eh?)

  4. i will second sara and gypsygrrl. do tell. please and thank you. xo

  5. bp says:

    well.
    you had a good reason.
    a darn good one.

    to heck with reps I say!

  6. bp says:

    i am at school, so i wrote heck.

  7. reproducinggenius says:

    Yes, more about the new girl, please. Many thanks. xoxo

  8. bp says:

    am missing your blog but happy that life is keeping you so busy you aren’t blogging but missing your blog…..repeat

  9. Tricia says:

    Will she make it to the market on time tomorrow? Will people whisper and clear a space for her to walk? Will they make her wear a scarlet letter?


Leave a comment