ok, here’s the situation

My parents went away for a week’s vacation.

Ok, not really.

Anyway, here’s what’s going on. Thanks to a number generous friends, I am doing IVF. Holy fucking shit, y’all. People are *giving* me money. And? People are *giving* me sperm. Some of these people I know and some I don’t and Jesus H. Christ on a cracker, people are giving me the things that I don’t have and cannot get myself so that I can have a baby. The world, my world, I guess, is right at some very basic level.

Let’s use ye olde internet to find some words to express just how grateful I am:

thankful – appreciative – beholden (from direct from my initial search)

beholden, gratified, indebted, obliged, pleased, thankful (from thesaurus.com)

Those are all correct (because I found them on the internet), but also don’t really hit the nail on its proverbial head.

The second definition from Miriam-Webster  is

giving pleasure or contentment to the mind or senses <I’m glad for the grateful warmth of the fire on such a cold day>

And the synonyms for that one are, well, better? Something.

agreeable, blessed (also blest), congenial, darling, delectable, delicious, delightful, delightsome, dreamy, dulcet, enjoyable, felicitous, good, grateful, gratifying, heavenly, jolly, luscious, nice, palatable, pleasing, pleasurable, pleasing, satisfying, savory (also savoury), sweet, tasty, welcome

All of which is to say, yes.

And thank you.

Thank you.

4 Comments on “ok, here’s the situation”

  1. home growed says:

    I can only assume that the donor of said wonderfulness(es) reads this blog, so I’d like to say thank you. Thank you for giving the gift I wish I could give, the gift that comes in my lottery fantasy before paying for college for all my nieces and nephews. Thank you for doing the thing I know so many of us wish we could have done. Thank you for loving my friend and helping her in ways I can only dream about. Thank you.Thank you. Thank you.

    • Actually, I have no idea if these generous people read this? Well, I know one does, but the others, really, no idea. Maybe? But! Way to go making me cry while I’m trying to write about drugs! (I’m better now, in case you were worried.)

  2. mfamama says:

    YAY! I’m so glad you are getting to try this again, and I really, really hope it works. If it does you’ll have a great story to tell your kid about how they came to be 🙂

  3. Sorry I’m late to the party and omg what a party!!! This rules!


Leave a Reply

