here is a stick. come beat this dead horse with me.

Oh, well, hello there!

Are you even still here? Did you think I’d given up on having a baby? Yeah, me, too. But no!  I didn’t!  Why give up when I can torture myself more?  Woo and hoo!

So a week or so ago, after a big, long break, I had a “counseling” session with my re, who was his usual great self.  He wanted to recheck my thyroid* and was cool with my plan to put off the mega-pricey battery of auto-immune tests.  If I hit the magic number of three miscarriages, my insurance will shell out mega-bucks.  As I’m just one blood-bath short, I think I’ll wait.  If this next try works, score! No need for testing!  If it fails, well, at least I get the million mega-pricey battery of tests for free.  See?  Win, win.

Anyway.  My thyroid checked out just fine, thank you very much.  (Now, let us sing the praises of the lab people.  Who not only remembered my name after all this time, but also remembered that I like a bit of gauze and a piece of tape rather than the big, stupid colored wrap that is the norm these days.)  And so I was cleared for take off.  Note the metaphor.  It’s a Journey, y’all.

Here’s how it’s all going to shake out:  oral estrogen starting on CD 2 (Have I missed counting cycle days?  No, I have not.) and then prog (By vagina!  Because that’s how we roll.) and some wandings and one blood draw and then off I toddle to Richmond to get one of my ten – yes, that’s 10 – embryos popped back up in there.  There being my uterus.

So let’s beat this motherfucker into the ground this time.  Hand me my stick.

*What? You didn’t know there’d been thyroid trouble? Well, that’s a story….from the Fall When Everything Fell Apart And Then My Cat Died. But we are living in the now, y’all. The. Now.

9 Comments on “here is a stick. come beat this dead horse with me.”

  1. i got yer stick right here, little lady.

    wow, was that EXCESSIVELY dirty? or what?

    (something in the air — on the ivp, i nearly said i was holding a place for you on my lap and virtually holding your boob, but it seemed inappropriate. so i didn’t.)

    xxxxxxxxxoooooooooo

  2. um, by which i mean that i am excited and scared and punchy and using questionable humor as a defense mechanism.

  3. clemency says:

    Okay, well then I shall virtually hold your other boob.

    Positivity! This post drips with positivity. That’s good. That’s very very good.

    One question only – only 1 embryo? Not that I wish twins on anyone but, you know, there *are* 10 of those little buggers….

    (PS Since bloody Skype is not apparently working for us right now, how do you feel about NY in October? Is it possible? Hopefully you’ll be about 12 weeks gone and spewing your guts up…)

  4. Briar says:

    I hope you will come puke at my house in October.

  5. vee says:

    Beat it with a shitty stick – that’ll do it. Go girl. Big love.

  6. the injector says:

    lots of love and beat power to you…xo

  7. Calliope says:

    what’s this about October?????

    oh and I’m with Clem – ONLY one??? dude.

    (I’m a fan of transferring two – but that’s just because I like to yell, “double down!!!!!” when people put embryos up my lady business.

    Have I told you lately that I adore you? I honestly do.

  8. Sabdha says:

    Well, I hope the horse is alive this time.xx


Leave a Reply

