sometimes, we all do the right thing

Yesterday, there was a random knock on my front door. Now, things have been pretty shit around here, and I didn’t really want to answer the door, but I did. Cause it’s rude not to and why compound misery with rude?
Anyway, it was this older guy, smoking a cigarette, with some story about being hired to rake some lady’s yard, but she didn’t have a rake and his was at his house across town and he didn’t want to walk all the way home to get it and did I have a rake he could borrow?
It seemed maybe sketchy. But I do have a rake so I told him to meet me around back and I gave him my rake, which has been much neglected of late and he thanked me and swore up and down he’d bring it back and went on his way.

It wasn’t real generosity on my part; it was an attempt not to snap at him and refuse just because of my own unhappiness. It didn’t make me feel particularly better and I did wonder if I’d see the rake again.
When I answered the door just now, it was him. With my rake and and offer of a few dollars, which I refused. He asked God to bless me and I replied, “you too, sir” and what I meant was that his stranger’s blessing was enough for my atheist ass.

3 Comments on “sometimes, we all do the right thing”

  1. Emily says:

    tremendous blessings to your atheist ass, dear.

  2. Tricia says:

    I once got all misty-eyed because a tall man helped me reach the recycled toilet paper in the grocery store when I was having a particularly bad spell.

    Sometimes it’s the tiniest things that get us through the day. (him, and maybe you, too?)

  3. Casey says:

    I love Emily’s comment, and second it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

