dispatches from the North

My soon to be mother-in-not-law has flown me up to the north for a visit.  I was all freaked out about somebody paying for my travel (oh, let’s be honest, I get freaked out by anyone paying for anything), but I got lectured by several people about smiling and saying thank you when one is offered something.  So.  Here I am.

Since arriving, I have :

  • eaten Korean food about a million times
  • sat on the screened porch and had delicious scotch from the gf’s uncle who died, which made me think fondly of my uncle who died.
  • watched a movie with the gf’s brother
  • slept in and then had coffee in bed
  • ate more Korean food!
  • watched the gf try on and look great in a million fancy shirts from her aforementioned uncle
  • prepped for a trip the the beach.  Yes, you read that right, I’m going to the beach.  Woo!
4 Comments on “dispatches from the North”

  1. gracefully accepting generosity is hard for me, too. but it is an important lesson in humility, me thinks. (and life is more fun when it includes the beach!)

  2. theclitremedy says:

    That LI lifestyle not looking so bad now huh? Korean food! A porch! The beach!

    You could get used it.

  3. Shannon says:

    Generosity + beach + family + Korean food = YAY!

    It’s tough accepting generous offers, like free travel, but I’m glad you did.

  4. the injector says:

    hmmmm….
    sounds good.
    hmmmmm……


Leave a Reply

