*interuption*

I know I owe the rest of the travel jounals – and they’re coming, they are – but how about an infertility rant while we wait?  It’s been a while.

I got proded on the playground again about having a baby.  Yes, by that same parent as last time – who I’ve never told about ttc and never would, so who knows what grapevine she got her info from.  The intent was good, I’m sure.  She wanted to know if I knew about ferning saliva and felt pressed to give me her version, which was vague to the point of inacuacy.  I smiled and said, “hmm,”  thinking, Lady, I am so far beyond worrying when my estrogen levels rise.  I could track that shit in my sleep.

Lord.

(watch out, there’s references to baby dust on the ferning link – ick)

9 Comments on “*interuption*”

  1. bp says:

    wtf is baby dust?

  2. nutella says:

    Eww, boo on insensetive people!

  3. reproducinggenius says:

    Oh fuck. I can’t count the times people have asked me if I have ever heard of cervical mucus, that if I just paid attention to that I’d get pregnant in no time. Right. And monkeys will fly out of my ass when?

    Sorry you had to deal with that, girl.

  4. shelli says:

    if you can get some practice in, a good retort to ‘playground fertility experts’ is to simply ‘one up them.’ So the the ferning saliva ‘expert,’ I would reply: ‘oh, thanks, but did you also know that you can actually look at sperm on a ferning microscope, too! You should try it, it’s so amazing to watch them shed their mitrchondia, trying to find an egg on there! Those silly sperm!’ Or, you know, something else just as assaninely brilliant, that makes them blush….

  5. Calliope says:

    people mean well…but seriously. DO you wear OPK charm bracelets or something? Why does this gal (assuming it is a gal) feel like it is ok to get into this with you?

    My local regular doc, that I ADORE, told me at the same appt that I was begging for antidepressants to get me through the unpregnancy that I should “try charting”. ha ha!

  6. Erin says:

    Ugh, that sucks. I love Shelli’s response. I can’t believe the same person said something twice. (Well, okay, I can, but still….)

  7. LB says:

    Um, I really hope that wasn’t today.

  8. yup, another sara says:

    Man, I hate those exchanges. What I want to say and what I can say (given the situation, location, etc.) are almost always two different things. Sorry.

  9. DUDE. That woman deserves a smackdown. Wanna sic the IVP on her???? 🙂


Leave a Reply

