preserved lemons

Oh, preserved lemons….. so sour, so good.  Please note that these pictures are from a batch I made a while back.  The ones I made Thursday remain sadly undocumented.

First, get some lemons.  These are from my aunt’s tree in SoCal.  Hardly local to me, but I did pick them myself, so that’s something.

Then, cut them up.  With these lemons, I cut them in quarters, leaving the stem and blossom ends attached.  Pretty, but too  much work.  This more recent, undocumented time, I cut through the blossom ends, leaving only the stem ends attached.  After the ritualized cutting, rub the cut surfaces with salt – I use kosher, because its shape adheres well to surfaces.  Plus it’s what I’ve got.  This is, as you can see, a messy business.

As you go, pack the cut and salted lemons into jars.  Pack them pretty tight.  Stop making cracks about packing, Mrs.  B.  Just stop.  Fill the jars up with lemon juice to cover the lemons.  Or, you can, as I did this more recent, undocumented time, simply use the juice that comes out as you press down on the lemons for the packing, topping it off as needed to cover. Oh.  And before you start packing the lemons, put a thin layer of salt down in the bottom of the jar.

See how easy that was?  Now let them sit for several weeks, turning the jar upside down occasionally, and then you’ve got preserved lemons.  Elise has her usual top-notch recipe for these, if you’re not as much of a fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants kind of girl as I am.

p.s. – blogging with pictures in WP is hard, y’all.

7 Comments on “preserved lemons”

  1. Margie says:

    What do you do with the finished product?

  2. Calliope says:

    I was just about to ask that too, Margie.
    I mean if it was SUGAR & lemon I could imagine some vodka might go well…

  3. gypsygrrl says:

    ditto & ditto.
    how does one use these beautifully packed (ahem) and preserved lemons?

    inquiring minds want to you…
    and arent you clever – you can post tomorrow in answer and get credit for your NaBloPoMo or whatever the heck the call-sign is :P~~~

  4. jay says:

    ditto and ditto and ditto!

    i am way impressed and wish i too had some lemons.

  5. me says:

    I did the same thing with lemons but with plenty more salt and called it bath salts. And I didn’t got to SoCal to get ’em.

  6. Hey, I preserved some lemons last week, too. I haven’t really figured out what to do with them, having never done this before, but I’m sure in combination with some tuna it could make a really tasty salad. This week I hope to find out.

  7. mrsbluemont says:

    I LOVE packing jokes. And lemons. And you.


Leave a Reply

