fail

But I will redeem myself, I swear.

I was going to do a nice food-related post yesterday – the second day of food-themed-July – but, clearly, I didn’t.  I got a headache instead.  And today I have a very faint head-ache hangover.  Bleh.  Anyway.

The cottage cheese experiment went well.  Not store-bought well, but I have this idea that any and all store-bought dairy products have colored (clouded?) my vision.  Does that make sense?  I love and am used to what store-bought cottage cheese is like and so when my homemade cottage cheese comes out slightly different in texture, it takes some getting used to.  It was good, taking that into account.  I pulled the basic directions from here, although I used far less milk and lemon juice instead of vinegar.  My ratio of acid to milk was higher than what was called for:  the curds didn’t seem to be separating and so I just started throwing more lemon juice in willy-nilly.  So I’m not real sure just how much lemon juice I used – close to a full lemon’s worth? – but it started separating and looked just like Chicory’s pictures of cheese making (well, the first picture – she did make *real* cheese, which has far more steps than my cottage cheese).  Go on with your bad self, you curds!  I was proud of them.  So proud.  Then I strained it and I was slightly less proud.  Only slightly, though.  For my 2 cups of milk, I only got one very, very small serving of cottage cheese and a whole shitload of whey.  It did taste pretty good, though – with salt and pepper and some garlic blossoms.  The texture was not what I was expecting (see above), but was good in it’s own right.  Much smaller curds and therefore sort of grainier.  A success, in my book, although possibly not the most efficient use of my weekly half gallon of milk.

On today’s docket:

*doing something with the Amish Friendship Bread (I just fed it)?  The recipe calls for a box of pudding, which I don’t have.  Maybe I’ll just leave it out?  Anyone?

*chickpeas and chard with something (sausage? ideas?) for dinner

*preserve lemons – maybe.

I don’t buy salad dressings.  Too expensive.  Or rather, if I don’t pay for salad dressings, I can spend more on other things – like fancy cheese.  Anyway, salad dressing is ridiculously easy.  Here’s my easiest one, stolen shamelessly from my neighbor:  put some salad greens on your plate, sprinkle with olive oil, sprinkle with slightly less soy sauce (or Bragg’s, if you’d rather), sit down, eat them.  Easy, huh?

8 Comments on “fail”

  1. Chicory says:

    how does one preserve lemons? not that I need to know living where lemon trees do NOT grow, but still, curiosity abounds.

    I know that if you google amish frienship bread one can find many, many recipes that use the starter. Or so I seem to remember. Klove and I keep thinking that we’ll start one and call it “cursed” bread because it’s like zombi bread that keeps coming back. We think it’ll make a great October thing to do. Leave some on your neighbor’s porch with a note that says “boo” and run.

  2. N says:

    Our personal current favorite dressing is from a French friend of ours: dijon mustard, add balsamic vinegar until it’s at a level of spicy you like (ours turns out v. dark brown, because I am a big wuss), mix with olive oil, usually about 1tbsp, until it’s thin.

    not quite as easy as yours, but seriously delicious.

  3. reproducinggenius says:

    I love making salad dressing (J just got a salad dressing cookbook that makes me drool with its clever ideas); however, we do buy some of our favorites. Our local market makes its own dressings and bottles them, so we buy those when they aren’t something we want to make on our own. The dressing you described sounds great. It reminds me of a sesame tamari dressing I used to have all the time. It’s similar to what you do, but instead, use tamari (Braggs will work) and a few dashes of sesame oil. Mmmm.

    And my dear, you are not a failure. I only managed to post yesterday (late last night)because J passed out early, and I still had a glass of wine to finish. What’s important is that you posted today and reminded me that I used to make paneer (same recipe as cottage cheese, but it’s Indian). I used a lot of lemon too (not vinegar), and I was always surprised when it didn’t yield much. But I loved it, and I’ve got to make it again. Maybe calling it paneer and not cottage cheese will help with your expectations?

    Okay, enough rambling. I can do that on my own blog.

  4. lb says:

    I like 2 tbs wine vinegar (balsamic lost it’s appeal for me as a veg in the 90’s) and 5 tbs olive oil and salt and pepper. I randomly add things like mustard and herbs depending on the mood.
    xo

  5. bri says:

    Dijon, balsamic, salt, pepper. Maybe a dash of oil on mine but none for Wes so I have grown to not need it. Yum-tastic.

    After OH, I have started trying to make my best friend’s miso ginger dressing. Food processor or blender required. Miso, ginger, rice vinegar, tamari, oil. I’ve been adding a little tofu and some tahini. It’s still not perfect but it’s getting there. Oh, and carrot in it is good, too. Not dipped, I mean, but ground up.

  6. bean says:

    I made that bread once. Is ‘pudding’ the instant custardy stuff in a packet? I didn’t have pudding either, but I googled the ingredients and made up something similar. Mostly cornflour and sugar! The bread was good but not especially sourdoughy…

  7. Calliope says:

    I am always on a quest to find the dressing recipe that the Mother of one of my Mother’s boyfriends used to make for Sunday supper.

    (& dude- how fucking Southern am I referencing a Mother’s boyfriend AND Sunday supper??)

    It was like the perfect dressing for tomatoes and cucumbers…Why can’t all of you guys open up a cafe where I can lounge with my laptop all day.

  8. cho-girl says:

    the pudding makes it more pound-cakey rather than bread-y – not that that is a bad thing.
    Methinks I need to get some Bragg’s.
    Oh, and what about I’s fab dressing? Recipe?


Leave a Reply

