food/gift craftastic

Or, “I don’t need to take the little pips out, do I?”

Oh, come on. You know you’ve missed live blogging with The Food Crafters.

Present: T of Tuesday Fame, Elsie, Cho-girl, LB and me.  Here we fucking are.  We are making infused vodka and flavored salts.  If they turn

9 pm.  Maths.  Math is hard.  LB is cutting citrus for infused vodka and Elsie is commiserating about mL and numbers of limes, slicing and doing maths while the rest of us sit on our collective ass and talk about a new fabric store.  Vodka is filtering, so as to see like higher quality, a la SJ.

9:17 pm.  Cho-girl begins lavender salt.  Smoked paprika is the shit this season, you know.  So we’ll be doing that next. And macha which is good on eggs.  Vodka still flitering.  T of Tuesday Fame is packaging some cleaning shit for us.  Terra Scrub if you must know.  You must know.

9:25 pm.  Pic of sliced citrus as we wait for vodka to filter. Again.

LB said “wait while I hold it against my bosom!”  but I didn’t post that one.  This is a family blog, after all.

9:35 pm.  Lavender salt done.  Vodka update:  first bottle, 3rd pass through the filter.

Live blogging is hard.  I’m passing this shit on.

9:40 pm.  Where is the shamwow?  Cleaning utensils-salt flavoring change.

9:45 pm.  Kermit crab status-mass murder and painting.

T of Tuesday Fame:  “did you calculate for the displacement of the citrus?”

SHG:  “fuck no.”

9:50 pm. New salt is smoked paprika and moving on to matcha which smells like green tea ice cream.

9:55 pm. Smells like a tea house.

10:00 pm. Four cycles of filtering the vodka is our max. around here, pouring it in with the first citrus mix, grapefruit.

10:05 pm. V-Bottle two, pass one.  S-done for now, we will be drying citrus and doing that later.

5 Comments on “food/gift craftastic”

  1. what?! since when do bosoms not belong in families? what patriarchal drivel. bring on the boobies!

  2. figgymommy says:

    See, I wanna do infused vodka, but I wanna do the skittle vodka. ’cause I have klass.

  3. Tricia says:

    I really wish I’d been there. And not just because this liveblog has holes big enough to drive a truck through. What did you do with matcha? (cuz I love green tea ice cream) Was it vodka? (oh nevermind. I just read the links. I am a lazy blog reader.) I’ve been thinking about doing your vanilla extract this year.

  4. gypsygrrl says:

    i wish i lived in your neighborhood.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers